Player One - Douglas Coupland

Player One

By Douglas Coupland

  • Release Date: 2010-09-25
  • Book Genre: Literary
Our rating: 5/5 stars

4 Score: 4 (From 21 Ratings)
eBook version ☑

Audiobook ♫

Read book description and reviews - Player One by Douglas Coupland

Player One by Douglas Coupland

The new CBC Massey Lectures - the most prestigious and eagerly anticipated nonfiction series of the year - are being delivered in 2010 by acclaimed novelist and visual artist Douglas Coupland. 

Coupland's 2010 Massey Lecture is a real-time five-hour story that explores the modern crises of time, human identity, society, religion, macroeconomics, and the afterlife. It is set in an airport cocktail lounge during five hours of a global disaster, and it asks readers: At what point do humans stop being human and become something else? Where, if anywhere, do modernity and classical theology overlap? What is Time? What is the human essence? And how does storytelling fit into all of this? 
In the tradition of Kurt Vonnegut and J. G. Ballard, Coupland locates his story and characters in an extreme situation and then pushes the implications as far as possible. Are we ants or are we divine? And where can we now locate meaning? The book asks as many questions as it answers, and readers will leave the book with no doubt that we are in a new phase of existence as a species - and that there is no turning back.

tags: Player One by Douglas Coupland eBOOK; Player One ePUB; Player One book review; Player One book summaries; book recommendations; book review blogs; book summary websites; Player One Douglas Coupland pdf; Player One Audiobook; Douglas Coupland; Literary books.

Comment Section